powered by FreeFind


Smokey Joe's Cafe

Musical Revue in 2 Acts. Music - Jerry Leiber & Mike Stoller; Lyrics - Jerry Leiber & Mike Stoller

Smokey Joe's Café
is a musical theatrical revue showcasing 39 pop standards, including rock and roll, rhythm and blues songs written by songwriters Jerry Leiber and Mike Stoller. This musical was nominated for seven Tony Awards. The Original Broadway cast soundtrack, Smokey Joe's Cafe: The Songs Of Leiber And Stoller won a Grammy award in 1995.

Smokey Joe's Cafe made its theatrical debut in 1994 in Los Angeles and opened on Broadway on 2 March, 1995 at the Virginia Theatre. The first London production was in 1996 at the Prince of Wales Theatre.

The New York production closed on January 16, 2000 after 2,036 performances, making Smokey Joe's Café the longest running musical revue in Broadway history. The final performance was filmed, and released on DVD in 2001

Throughout its run, the cast included special appearances by a variety of popular recording artists, including Gladys Knight, Gloria Gaynor and Rick Springfield.

As of March 2008, this musical is still being produced by professional and amateur theatrical companies around the world.

Musical Numbers

  1. Neighbourhood
  2. Young Blood
  3. Falling
  4. Ruby Baby
  5. Dance With Me
  6. Keep On Rollin'
  7. Searchin'
  8. Kansas City
  9. Trouble
  10. Love Me/Don't
  11. Fools Fall in Love
  12. Poison Ivy
  13. Don Juan
  1. Shoppin' for Clothes
  2. I Keep Forgettin'
  3. On Broadway
  4. D.W. Washburn
  5. Saved
  6. Baby That Is Rock & Roll
  7. Yakety Yak
  8. Charlie Brown
  9. Stay a While
  10. Pearl's a Singer
  11. Teach Me How to Shimmy
  12. You're the Boss
  1. Loving You
  2. Treat Me Nice
  3. Hound Dog
  4. Little Egypt
  5. I'm a Woman
  6. There Goes My Baby
  7. Love Potion #9
  8. Some Cats Know
  9. Jailhouse Rock
  10. Spanish Harlem
  11. I (Who Have Nothing)
  12. Stand by Me

Awards and nominations