powered by FreeFind


Oil City Symphony

Sleev to OCR

Lyrics - Mike Craver: Composed by Mark Hardwick, Dea Monk: Book by Mike Craver, Mark Hardwick, Dea Monk and Mary Murfitt

Circle in the Square Downtown - Off Broadway - November 5, 1987 (626 perfs)


Imagine your school gym, festooned with crepe paper, with four music stands on an improvised stage. Let your imagination go - four alumni of the local high school come back "for one night only" to give a recital in honour of their music teacher - with something borrowed, nothing blue and innocent fun in generous measure. That's Oil City Symphony, the latest creation from the writers of Pump Boys And Dinettes. When was the last time that an audience in your town did the hokey-pokey together?

Musical Numbers:

  1. Count Your Blessings
  2. Czardas
  3. A Classical Selection - The Anvil Chorus
  4. A Popular Selection - In a Gadda-Da-Vida
  5. Ohio Afternoon
  6. Baby It's Cold Outside
  7. The Hokey Pokey
  8. Beaver Ball at the Bug Club
  9. Beehive Polka
  10. A Patriotic Fantasy
  11. Dizzy Fingers
  12. Getting Acquainted
  13. Iris
  14. The End of the World
  15. Dear Miss Reeves
  16. Coaxing the Piano
  17. Bus Ride
  18. In the Sweet Bye and Bye
  19. My Ol' Kentucky Rock and Roll HOme
  20. Exodus
  21. Sleigh Ride
  22. The Christmas Medley
  23. The Summer Medley


2 men, 2 women


percussion, piano db. accordion, synthesizer, violin db. flute/tenor sax


Original Cast Recording - DRG CDSBL 12594