powered by FreeFind


Cry Baby

A musical in 2 Acts. Music Adam Schlesinger; Lyrics David Javerbaum; Book Mark O'Donnell and Thomas Meehan. Based on the John Water's 1990 film Cry-Baby.

Premiered La Jolla Playhouse, San Diego, California 18th November, 2007
Marquis Theatre, Broadway - previews 15th March, 2008. Opened 24th April, 2008. Closed 22nd June, 2008.(45 previews, 68 performances)


Everyone likes Ike, nobody likes communism, and Wade 'Cry-Baby' Walker is the coolest boy in town. He's a bad boy with a good cause—truth, justice, and the pursuit of rock 'n roll—and when he falls for a good girl who wants to be bad, her charm school world of bobby sox and barbershop quartets will never be the same. Wayward youth, juvenile delinquents, sexual repression, cool music, dirty lyrics, bizarre rejects...Finally, the 50's come to life! For real this time!"


Musical numbers

Act I

  1. The Anti-Polio Picnic
  2. Watch Your Ass
  3. I'm Infected
  4. Squeaky Clean
  5. Nobody Gets Me
  6. Nobody Gets Me (reprise)
  7. Jukebox Jamboree
  8. A Whole Lot Worse
  9. Screw Loose
  10. Baby Baby Baby Baby Baby (Baby Baby)
  11. Girl, Can I Kiss You...?
  12. I'm Infected (Reprise)
  13. You Can't Beat the System

Act II

  1. Misery, Agony, Helplessness, Hopelessness, Heartache and Woe
  2. All in My Head
  3. Jailyard Jubilee
  4. A Little Upset
  5. I Did Something Wrong...Once
  6. Thanks for the Nifty Country!
  7. This Amazing Offer
  8. Do That Again
  9. Nothing Bad's Ever Gonna Happen Again