Shows M

MOTOWN: THE MUSICAL A jukebox musical: Book by Berry Gordy, Jr. Lunt-fontanne Theatre, New York, NY- 14 April , 2013 (previewsfrom 11th March, 2013) SYNOPSIS The musical follows the rise of the iconic R&B label from 1959 as Diana Ross becomes an international sensation, Smokey Robinson heads up the Miracles, and Gordy’s talented artists become mainstream headliners. Songs that have become a part of the American consciousness, from giants like the Supremes, Marvin Gaye, Stevie Wonder, The Temptations, and Michael Jackson and the Jackson 5, are all here in one memorable evening. It is the real story of the one-of-a-kind sound that hit the airwaves in 1959 and changed our culture forever. This exhilarating show charts Motown founder Berry Gordy's incredible journey from featherweight boxer to the heavyweight music mogul who launched the careers of Diana Ross, Michael Jackson, Stevie Wonder, Smokey Robinson, Marvin Gaye and so many more. Featuring all the loved classics the musical tells the story behind the hits as Diana, Smokey, Berry and the whole Motown family fight against the odds to create the soundtrack that changed America. Motown shattered barriers, shaped our lives and made us all move to the same beat. CAST Brandon Victor Dixon - Berry Gordy Valisia Lekae - Diana Ross Charl Brown - Smokey Robinson Bryan Terrell Clark - Marvin Gaye Raymond Luke, Jr. - Young Berry Gordy, Michael Jackson, Stevie Wonder Jibreel Mawry - Young Berry Gordy, Michael Jackson, Stevie Wonder Ryan Shaw - Stevie Wonder, Ensemble Ensemble Timothy J. Alex; Michael Arnold; Nicholas Christopher; Rebecca E. Covington; Ariana Debose; Andrea Dora; Wilkie Ferguson; Marva Hicks; Tiffany Janene Howard; Sasha Hutchings; Jawan M. Jackson; Lauren Lim Jackson; Morgan James; John Jellison; Crystal Joy; Grasan Kingsberry; Marielys Molina; Sydney Morton; Maurice Murphy; Jesse Nager; Milton Craig Nealy; N'kenge; Dominic Nolfi; Saycon Sengbloh; Jamal Story; Eric Lajuan Summers; Ephraim M. Sykes; Julius Thomas III; Daniel J. Watts; Donald Webber, Jr.; Swings Preston W. Dugger III; Dionne Figgins; Jamie Laverdiere; Jarran Muse; SONGS featured (not necessarily in order they were performed) 1. ABC (music by Alphonso J. Mizell, Freddie Perren, Berry Gordy Jr., and Deke Richards; lyrics by Mizell, Perren, Gordy, and Richards) 2. Ain’t No Mountain High Enough (music by Valerie Simpson, lyrics by Nickolas Ashford) 3. Ain’t Too Proud to Beg (music by Norman J. Whitfield; lyrics by Edward Holland, Jr.)