powered by FreeFind


High Society

Playbill UK Touring Production 1996

Music and Lyrics by Cole Porter: Book by Richard Eyre

Based on the play The Philadelphia Story by Philip Barry and the MGM motion picture High Society

Victoria Palace Theatre, London - 25 February, 1987 (420 perfs)

The Story:

The story is set in 1948 when Tracy Samantha Lord is about to marry her second husband, George Ketteridge. Her mother, Mrs Margaret Lord, and her younger sister, Dinah, are at the family mansion in Philadelphia supervising last minute preparations. Her father, Seth Lord, is absent ostensibly on business.

Sydney Kidd, editor of "Spy" Magazine is determined to get the inside story on the wedding and blackmails Dexter Haven, (Tracy's first husband who is still coming to terms with the failure of their marriage) to arrange for two journalists, Liz Imbrie and Mike Connor, to pose as guests and obtain an exclusive story. Tracy shows a great deal of interest in Mike's ambition to become a successful author, causing jealousy from both Liz and George: her erratic behaviour on the eve of the wedding leads to it being called off just as the guests arrive for the ceremony.

The show's finale is a spectacular double wedding; Tracy and Dexter, Liz and George!

Principal Characters (plus Chorus)

Tracy Lord
Dexter Haven
Liz Imbrie
Margaret Lord
George Ketteridge
Dinah Lord
Mike Connor
Seth Lord
Uncle Willie

Musical Numbers:

  1. How Do You Spell Ambassador
  2. Give Him the Ooh-la-la
  3. Who Wants To Be a Millionaire? (Liz, Mike)
  4. Little One
  5. Hey, Good Lookin' (Uncle Willie)
  6. I Love You, Samantha
  7. Ball Medley
  8. Well Did You Evah? (Tracy, Dexter, Mike, Liz)
  9. Most Gentlemen Don't Like Love
  10. Now You Has Jazz (Mike, Tracy, Chorus)
  11. In the Still of the Night (Liz)
  12. You're Sensational
  13. True Love
  14. Finale/High Society (Mike, Liz, Chorus)

2004 Revival Musical Numbers

Act I

  1. "High Society"
  2. "Ridin' High"
  3. "Throwing a Ball Tonight"
  4. "Little One"
  5. "Who Wants to Be a Millionaire
  6. "I Love Paris"
  7. "She's Got That Thing"
  8. "Once Upon a Time"
  9. "True Love"

Act II

  1. "High Society" (Reprise)
  2. "Let's Misbehave"
  3. "I'm Getting Myself Ready for You"
  4. "Once Upon a Time" (Reprise)
  5. "Just One of Those Things"
  6. "Well, Did You Evah!"
  7. "You're Sensational"
  8. Say It With Gin"
  9. "Ridin' High"
  10. "It's All Right With Me"
  11. "He's a Right Guy"
  12. "I Love You, Samantha"
  13. "True Love" (Reprise)


Reed 1 - Alto Sax/Clarinet (Lead)/2nd Flute
Reed 2 - Alto Sax/Flute/(lead)/Piccolo
Reed 3 - Tenor Sax/Clarinet/Alto flute
Reed 4 - Baritone Sax/Clarinet/Bass Clarinet


French Horn


Bass Trombone


Tenor Trombone 2


Trumpet 3/flugelhorn

Trumpet 1/flugelhorn

2 Cello

2 Violin I




Tenor Trombone I

Trumpet 2

1 Violin II